top of page

Step into our shoes...

Last week, I had my first experience with a "blanket ceremony" in the Foundations 102 class we were invited to imagine, stepping into the shoes of the First Nations peoples as we walked through the history of the First Nations people. AS we had our blanket laid down on the ground, people were were asked to step off, representing death from the many sources caused by the settlers. We walked through both perspective: the European settler who was claiming new land for the mother country, and the First Nations people who started as guides before being viewed as vermin. I went into the class with a grudge against the exercise as I thought it would be "just another First Nations talk." I grew up in the public school system and had a lot of exposure to the First Nations culture, especially art. In middle school and high school we had a First Nations counsellor that built relationships with us and invited us to spend time in the FN classroom on our lunch breaks. There I grew up playing some traditional games, coloured and drew artwork inspired by the west coast FN art. One the the most memorable experiences I had was getting to make and carve my own soapstone candle holder which I still keep on my mantle at home. For me, this FN counsellor was a mentor to me and taught me so much about learning about each other's culture and not being afraid of differences. Yet, in high school I found myself creating this negative image of the First Nations people in our community because I began to see the negatives beyond the friendships that I had created at school. I saw how my First Nations peers would dress in old, baggy clothes from the thrift store, that they looked like they hadn't showered in a while, and that they had to grab a sandwhich from the office for lunch. I felt sorry for them but yet I never really did anything to talk to them. Once I got my drivers licence I learned to stay away from one of the near by towns at night in fear of the drunk natives on the highway, and in town. It was in high school that I began to formulate prejudices against the FN people in my community because I didn't understand the determinants in their life that had brought them to the point where we see alcoholic behaviours and addiction. I do not know where they are now in their lives but I do pray for God to be working in their lives because they deserve to know the wonders of our God.

It really broke my heart when I heard at the blanket ceremony that native teenagers are more likely to commit suicide than the average Canadian teenager. I feel a sense of responsibility to change the way I view First Nations people because when you speak them them face to face, they are just like us; they are people who have a deep desire to be welcomed, feel a sense of autonomy, and be given the freedom to practice their cultural customs. I recognize that for me, culture is a huge part of my identity as a half-vietnamese half-dutch Canadian citizen. I cannot imagine a life where the freedom to practice my cultural and spiritual customs is unwarranted. After walking away from the blanket ceremony I have been challenged with the question: can we completely unfold the blanket? I do not believe that we will be able to unfold the blanket completely because we have a years of trauma to the First Nations people. I do believe that reconciliation needs to keep happening in Canada so that the First Nations people are recognized, acknowledged and so that as a country we can move forward. I have to acknowledge that despite the grotesque history of Canada from the perspective of the FN, there is some beauty that comes as a result. There is no denying that the tactics to "eliminate" the native peoples or assimilate them are extremely wrong. If Canada had a different history, it makes me wonder if Canada would be as multicultural and diverse as it is now. Canada is now the home and safe haven for generations of immigrants and refugees. Sadly, the First Nations people are the minority of a country said to be so welcoming and accepting to culture.

This blanket ceremony was invaluable to me and reenforced the education that I learned from my nursing health promotion class. It was really interesting to be able to feel a fraction of the weight and gravity of the hurt the FN people in the exercise. I want this emotional connection to the First Nations history to stick with my in my nursing practice, especially when looking at the social determinants of health of First Nations community.


bottom of page